A CERTIFIED STRATEGY

Our low-carbon commitments have been approved as the most ambitious 1.5°C-aligned targets by the Science-Based Target initiative (SBTi), in accordance with the Paris agreement on climate change in 2015. This approval reaffirms the Group’s European leadership status in the fight against climate.

Our portfolio becomes the largest real estate portfolio in the world by value to be BREEAM In Use certified for sustainable asset performance across every one of its malls. A certification made possible thanks to an innovative and long-term partnership with BRE, the certification body, and the consulting firm Longevity Partners.

Klépierre has been on the CDP's "A list" since its inception. This list, drawn up by CDP, the NGO specialising in corporate environmental transparency, brings together organisations involved in the fight against climate change.

header_image.jpg

KLÉPIERRE RECOGNIZED BY THE SCIENCE-BASED TARGET INITIATIVE FOR ITS LOW-CARBON STRATEGY

Key figures

-72%

of greenhouse gas emissions since 2013

93%

of our shopping centers powered with renewable energy as of 2020

100%

green energy (electricity and natural gas) at our malls in France and Belgium

Direct Greenhouse-Gas Emissions

klepierre_act_for_good_05.jpg

In the face of current and future climate challenges, we have a responsibility to take action by positively differentiating our portfolio. To show our determination to rely more heavily on renewable power, we publish our greenhouse-gas emissions, calculated using a market-based method in which emission factors are applied to each energy supplier. We then use those findings proactively by choosing green energy suppliers in Belgium, France, Italy, Norway, Sweden, The Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. As a result, our greenhouse-gas emissions fell 34% in 2019 from the previous year on a constant-scope basis, for a total reduction of 72% since 2013.

We are continuing our campaign to make our five largest shopping centers (by value) carbon-neutral by 2022. Those malls – Field’s (Denmark), Créteil Soleil (France), Val d’Europe (France), Porta di Roma (Italy) and Emporia (Sweden) – form a representative cross-section of our portfolio in terms of their climate conditions, energy mix and age, and thus provide a fertile testing ground for ideas that could ultimately ensure carbon neutrality at all of our assets.

Our Wider Carbon Footprint

k_jaude_faaade_0226.jpg

We are among the firms in our industry that calculate our Scope-3 emissions as broadly as possible. Our aim is to determine the wider carbon footprint from our operations by calculating the emissions associated with energy consumption by our retail tenants and visitor travel to and from our malls. In 2018 we went even further by sharing our BOOST action plans and guides to operational best practices with our primary tenants, in order to raise their awareness and help them take concrete steps to improve energy efficiency in their shops, reduce their water consumption and manage waste more effectively. In addition, we include sustainable development provisions in the standard leases we offer to all our tenants. Visitor travel to and from our shopping centers is far and away the biggest contributor to the Group’s carbon footprint, generating 1,253,329 tons of CO2 in 2019 — 76% of our total carbon impact. For that reason we have made sustainable mobility a top priority and are already adopting measures to that effect

Developing Resilient Assets

beaulieu_dd_0117.jpg

Through our efforts to anticipate the potential impact of extreme climate events and stricter regulatory requirements, we are readying our portfolio of assets for the future. We have instituted mandatory structural inspections for each of our assets every five years. In the course of our operations, we take steps to protect our assets against higher demand for heating and air conditioning as a result of temperature fluctuations, and to verify that each building’s physical shell is designed to withstand extreme weather events. We incorporate those concerns into our day-to-day operations management as well as all expansion and renovation projects.

We are working diligently to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels; we also contribute to industry working groups that aim to reduce the risks associated with energy market volatility and regulatory changes.

UNE STRATÉGIE CERTIFIÉE

Nos engagements en faveur d’un avenir bas carbone ont été approuvés par l’initiative Science-Based Targets (SBTi) qui les a jugés compatibles avec la « trajectoire 1,5 °C » retenue par l’accord de Paris de 2015 sur le climat. Une certification qui positionne Klépierre comme la première foncière européenne en matière de lutte contre le changement climatique.

Notre portefeuille de centres commerciaux est également le premier au monde en valeur à recevoir une certification BREEAM In-Use pour l'ensemble de des actifs qui le compose. Une certification rendue possible grâce à un partenariat innovant et de long terme avec l'organisme de certification BRE, et la société de conseil Longevity Partners.

Klépierre a fait partie de la « liste A » du CDP dès sa création. Cette liste dressée par CDP, l’ONG spécialisée dans la transparence environnementale des entreprises, regroupe les organisations participant à la lutte contre le changement climatique.

header_image.jpg

KLÉPIERRE RECONNUE PAR L’INITIATIVE SCIENCE-BASED TARGETS POUR SA STRATÉGIE BAS CARBONE

Chiffres clés

- 72 %

d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre depuis 2013

93 %

de nos centres commerciaux alimentés en électricité d’origine renouvelable dès 2020

100 %

d’énergie verte (électricité et gaz) pour nos centres en France et en Belgique

Émissions directes de gaz à effet de serre

klepierre_act_for_good_05.jpg

Face aux enjeux climatiques actuels et à venir, nous avons la responsabilité d’agir en différenciant notre portefeuille de manière positive. Afin d’illustrer nos efforts pour accroître notre approvisionnement en électricité d’origine renouvelable, nous publions nos émissions de gaz à effet de serre calculées selon la méthode market-based, qui consiste à appliquer les facteurs d’émission de chacun des fournisseurs d’énergie, ce qui nous permet de faire valoir nos efforts pour réorienter nos achats vers des énergies vertes en Belgique, en France, en Italie, en Norvège, en Suède, aux Pays-Bas, au Portugal et en Espagne. Ainsi, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre à périmètre constant ont diminué de 34 % par rapport à 2018 et une baisse totale de 72 % depuis 2013.

Nous continuons de piloter des mesures pour atteindre la neutralité carbone dans nos cinq plus grands centres commerciaux (en valeur) d’ici à 2022. Ces centres – Field’s (Danemark), Créteil Soleil (France), Val d’Europe (France), Porta di Roma (Italie) et Emporia (Suède) – constituent un échantillon représentatif au vu de leurs conditions climatiques, de leur mix énergétique et de leur ancienneté, et offrent donc un terrain d’expérimentation propice, avec, en ligne de mire, la neutralité carbone de l’ensemble de nos actifs.

Empreinte carbone élargie

k_jaude_faaade_0226.jpg

Nous faisons partie des acteurs du secteur qui comptabilisent le plus largement leurs émissions du Scope 3. Nous cherchons ainsi à déterminer l’empreinte carbone élargie de nos activités en calculant les émissions notamment associées à la consommation d’énergie de nos enseignes locataires et les déplacements des visiteurs vers et depuis nos centres commerciaux. En 2018, nous sommes allés plus loin en partageant nos plans d’action BOOST et nos guides de bonnes pratiques opérationnelles avec nos principales enseignes pour les sensibiliser et les aider à prendre des mesures concrètes : efficacité énergétique de leurs boutiques, consommation d’eau, gestion des déchets. En outre, des clauses relatives au développement durable sont incluses dans les baux standard pour l’ensemble de nos locataires. Enfin, les déplacements des visiteurs vers et depuis ses centres commerciaux représentent de loin la plus grande contribution à l’empreinte carbone du Groupe. Ils ont généré 1 253 329 tonnes de CO2 en 2019, soit 76 % de son empreinte carbone totale. C’est pourquoi nous avons érigé la mobilité durable au rang de priorité et pris d’ores et déjà des mesures dans ce sens.

Développement d’actifs résilients

beaulieu_dd_0117.jpg

Nous cherchons à anticiper les effets potentiels d’épisodes climatiques extrêmes et d’une réglementation plus stricte et à y préparer nos actifs. Nous avons mis en place un audit de structure obligatoire pour chaque actif tous les cinq ans. Dans le cadre de nos activités, nous prenons des mesures pour prémunir nos actifs contre des besoins plus importants en chauffage ou en climatisation dus à des changements de température et s’assurer que l’enveloppe physique des bâtiments est conçue pour résister à des phénomènes climatiques extrêmes. Cette démarche se retrouve aussi bien dans la gestion opérationnelle que dans les développements et rénovations.

Nous nous employons à réduire notre dépendance aux énergies fossiles tout en continuant de participer à des groupes de travail sectoriels afin de limiter les risques associés à la volatilité du marché de l’énergie et aux évolutions réglementaires.